Isle of Bute Port Bannatyne

Isle of Bute

Port Bannatyne

Landscape Photography

ort Bannatyne Wooden Pier

Port Bannatyne lies 2.5miles north of Rothesay on the east coast of the Isle of Bute. This is a tranquil coastal village which has small marina. The wooden pier lies derelict from the Victorian age, when the Isle of Bute was a very much a bustling holiday destination. The Isle of Bute is on the west coast of Scotland, in the Firth of Clyde, and North of the isle of Arran.

I wanted to capture its dereliction, and its structure against the magnificent scenery of the mountains of Argyll and the Cowal Peninsular. These long exposures were taken on a very much overcast early morning, using a Lee Big Stopper. I took several exposure times and used images with the best exposure without blowing the highlights too much, or too much black clipping.

Black and white conversions have worked well with the structure creating a minimalistic feel with depth and perspective.

Thank you for popping in to my blog today 😀

4 thoughts on “Isle of Bute Port Bannatyne

  1. What a great set of shots! I have looked at the gallery a few times and I think the image that works best for me is the one which is displayed third in the little row of three. I like how it reveals more of the structure of the pier and that the water stretches further beyond the pier. The other two are also great but for me the composition looks more precise in that one and the higher elevation offers a greater sense of being there. Although you’ve been absent for a while the wait was worth it. Best wishes, Mr Cafe 🙂

    • Thank you soooo much. I certainly know what you mean about the third image, I wanted to get the mountains in, a little rule of thirds going off, and the shot was angled in way to have an off central look at the pier. All these shots turned out exactly as planned, i.e. I visualised the results – it is rare I pull that off. And thanks again, I need a break, plus the recent tragedy on Wake Road, had knocked me 6. Glad to be back. Soo much to catch up on. 😉

Please leave a comment

