Totem by Barbara Hepworth

The Hepworth Wakefield

The Hepworth Wakefield

Photography

The Hepworth Wakefield

I had wonderful afternoon with my good friend Dalia at the The Hepworth Wakefield. located on the Calder and Hebble Navigation.

Hepworth Wakefield

We did not know what we wanted to do and we both arrived very independently upon The Hepworth, and neither of us had been. We are frequent visitors of the Yorkshire Sculpture Park, heavily dotted with the works of Henry Moore and Barbara Hepworth

I have selected a handful of pictures that I took, using my old 18-55mm kit lens, for its image stabilisation. I felt naked without my tripod; and brushing up on ad-hoc photography skills. Only a couple of the galleries did not allow photography, due to other photographs being exhibited, even a piece called the Frog which resemble the Millennium Falcon was not allowed to be photographed..

Exhibiting were Franz West, Barbara Hepworth and others I did not catch the names of. The Chairs one I would be grateful if someone could enlighten me, as I thought I could find it on the Google search….alas no luck what so ever, and too sad to phone the gallery.

I chose to convert into black and white, purely because it looks better for sculpture and architecture.

Artists and Sculptures

Totem by Hepworth had a wonderful light fall on to it, it looked marshmallow like. I have dodged and burned in lightroom to help isolate the sculpture. I still had my circular polariser on the lens which helped.

The Figure for Landscape is its original cast. The bronze can be seen in Hepworth St Ives.it looks ghostly, and madonna like from this particlular angle.

Allan Kaparow’s Yard is a living sculpture of tyres. exhibiting around the world since the 1960’s. Locally sourced tyres fill an urban space, where the public can play around with the tyres, make their own sculptures and have wheel races etc. This space had an overwhelming odour of rubber. This scene took my fancy.This is not all of the art space, there are hundreds more tyres

The Chairs sculptured and I do apologise my research was poor on this, however I have a sneaky suspicion it is Franz West. I decided to off-centre the image as the setting was symmetrical, and the tulip / earpiece was enigmatic.

Click on any image to enter the gallery

Thank you for calling in today.

2 thoughts on “The Hepworth Wakefield

  1. I am, as you’ve probably noticed, a complete Philistine when it comes to art and sculpture. Love the first picture. You do get such good clouds! Are they your personal clouds or do you rent them from an agency?
    The chunks of stone? Sorry can’t help you there. The chairs are probably a bus stop and the pile of tyres means someone was clearing out their garage so they could get the car in for the winter.
    Give me waterfalls, lakes and beaches – any day!

    1. art is art David, and it is whatever you interpret. The clouds, are just luck most of the time, but maybe there is rent-a-cloud out there on google.
      Totem by the late Barbara Hepworth, local lass in Wakey, i just love the curves and shadows and shapes her sculptures make in the right light. The tyres – yes a bit hit and miss with that one myself, it was a bit ‘well is this it?’ The overpowering rubber smell almost sent me back out of the door 😀 I never liked tracey emmin’s bed – somethings are preposterous and waste of funding….
      Thanks David, love your thoughts and take on things, just magic:D

Please leave a comment

