Sunderland Bridge Durham New Years Eve 2014

Sunderland Bridge Durham

New Years Eve 2014

Landscape Photography

River Wear Sunderland Bridge

An ancient bridge that spans the River Wear in Durham near Croxdale. This Sunderland Bridge has been superseded by the road bridge (Croxdale Bridge 1924) A167 Durham to Darlington Road to the east, and a railway viaduct (Croxdale Viaduct 1872) to the west upstream on the Wear

Sunderland Bridge was built in circa 14th Century (1300 hundreds). it consists of 4 stone arches and has had several upgrades over the centuries but now only allows local traffic, a Grade I listed building. It is a popular picnic area, and with walkers.

I had a poor light day when myself and my dad decided to pop out and catch the last couple of hours or so of the daylight on News Year Eve. No dramatic sunsets of the like to close 2014. It was quite grim, sad and looking dank. The river was flowing well over the stoney weir, just about right for a long exposure with the big stopper.

My dad remembers when his father used to bring him here for picnic many years ago. Just north of the River Wear from Croxdale is another river tributaries to the Wear is the Browney. This river flows through our village at Bearpark.

Croxdale and Bearpark, and as so many villages that surround Durham City have links to the mining industry, are but now a shadow of our past. The road and rail links were vital support network to the coal industry. Croxdale pit opened in 1845 and closed 25 years later.

Thanks for calling by my blog today,and happy new year to you 🙂

9 thoughts on “Sunderland Bridge Durham New Years Eve 2014

  1. I will add my ‘not always happy with smooth water’ bit, but…… in this case you have used it perfectly.
    Great image & well made.
    David.

  2. Yes, I think the picture would lose something without the milky water – liked your Dad’s reminiscences! Parts of our railway (Carlisle to Newcastle) are left over from when it went up to the coal mines, too. Horses pulling wagons along wooden rails, and all that sort of thing.

    1. Hi David, Thank you. My own village Bearpark has the priginal pit banner in teh WMC, and the winding wheel outside the community centre. Bearpark has quite a lot of history (not just the colliery). Our colliery came after Croxdale’s and out lived it form more than a century. However Sunderland Bridge and Bearpark’s ruins (Beaurepaire) are medieval and have links Durham Cathedral. My dad never went down a mine, but both my grandads were miners. I used to jump off the old pit bath roof with me brother and cousins when we were little…..:D

      1. Sometimes you just shudder when you think of the things you did as a child, don’t you? – I don’t know how I made it to twenty!

  3. Great picture…Happy new year! 🙂

  4. I’m not a fan of milky water effect however, having said that I think it works well in your image, I tried to share on G+ from the button, but eventually just copied the URL into g+. Did share on FB and Twitter. I think from that you can take it I really liked your image 🙂

    1. Thank you Walter. I very much appreciate your comments and support. I think it works here because it is a monochrome conversion. Dull days can make colours look washed out. My next post is exactly that, with some reflections.

Please leave a comment

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close